Logo The Society for the Protection of Parc des Iles-de-la-Paix in Lake Saint-Louis Logo The Society for the Protection of Parc des Iles-de-la-Paix in Lake Saint-LouisSociété d'aménagement du Parc des Îles-de-la-Paix
The environment of the Iles-de-la-Paix in Lake Saint-Louis

Save our islands

The Iles-de-la-Paix archipelago in Lake Saint-LouisLéry - Beauharnois

The Iles-de-la-Paix archipelago is a national wildlife reserve and migratory bird sanctuary belonging to the Canadian Wildlife Service.

Unfortunately, the water levels surrounding the islands have been kept high in recent years. This decision was taken by the International Joint Commission (IJC) in order to balance the needs of electricity production, navigation on the lake, and stability. But the resulting high water levels led to the death of the archipelago’s coastal forests, and the shores have become very susceptible to erosion.

In 1991, the Society for the Protection of Parc des Iles-de-la-Paix, a non-profit organization, was founded. It is devoted to saving this archipelago in Lake Saint-Louis. The Society has over 50 members, and is supported by many organizations who are partners in its efforts.

Protect the Îles-de-la-Paix wildlife reserve environment in Lake Saint-Louis by building dikes Protect the Îles-de-la-Paix wildlife reserve environment in Lake Saint-Louis. Construction of a dike to protect the Îles-de-la-Paix environment in Lake Saint-Louis Protecting animals from the Îles-de-la-Paix in Lake Saint-Louis Protecting animals from the Îles-de-la-Paix archipelago in Lake Saint-Louis

Logo Société d'aménagement du Parc des Îles-de-la-Paix du Lac Saint-Louis Logo Société d'aménagement du Parc des Îles-de-la-Paix du Lac Saint-LouisSociété d'aménagement du Parc des Îles-de-la-Paix
L'environnement des Îles-de-la-Paix dans le lac Saint-Louis

Sauvons nos îles

L'archipel des Îles-de-la-Paix dans le lac Saint-LouisLéry - Beauharnois

L’archipel des Îles-de-la-Paix est une réserve nationale de faune et un refuge d’oiseaux migrateurs appartenant au Service canadien de la faune (SCF).

Malheureusement, les niveaux d’eau entourant les îles sont maintenus plus élevés, décision prise par la Commission mixte internationale (CMI) pour des raisons de production d’électricité, de navigation et de stabilité. Ces niveaux élevés ont entraîné la mort de la forêt riveraine et, dès lors, les rives sont devenues propices à l’érosion.

En 1991, la Société d’aménagement du parc des Îles-de-la-Paix, société sans but lucratif, a été fondée et enregistrée comme organisme de bienfaisance. Celle-ci est vouée à la sauvegarde de cet archipel situé dans le lac Saint-Louis. La Société est composée d’une cinquantaine de membres et est appuyée par plusieurs organismes qu’elle appelle ses partenaires.

Protéger l'environnement de la réserve faunique des Îles-de-la-Paix dans le Lac Saint-Louis par la construction de digues Protéger l'environnement de la réserve faunique des Îles-de-la-Paix dans le Lac Saint-Louis Construction de digue pour protéger l'environnement de la réserve faunique des Îles-de-la-Paix dans le Lac Saint-Louis Protéger les animaux des Îles-de-la-Paix dans le Lac Saint-Louis Protéger les animaux de l'archipel des Îles-de-la-Paix dans le Lac Saint-Louis